Law is not black or white, it's grey

561-686-6886

First appearance West Palm Beach, Florida

What is a first appearance hearing? What happens in a first appearance in West Palm Beach, Florida?

After arrest, a defendant goes before the first appearance judge within 24 hours. Generally, at the first appearance hearing,

-Your criminal lawyer will try to get you a bond at first appearance so you can get out of jail

-Your criminal attorney may argue that there is no probable cause for the charges and try to get you released on your own recognizance

-The Florida first appearance judge will inform you of certain rights you have

-The Florida first appearance judge will inform you of the nature of the charges against you

-The Florida first appearance judge will set an arraignment date for your criminal case.

If your Palm Beach criminal lawyer gets a loved one a reasonable bond at first appearance, your loved one will typically get out of jail about 12 hours after the bond is posted.

Your Florida criminal lawyer at First appearance will try to get you out of jail – get you a bail bond

At first appearance in West Palm Beach, your criminal lawyer will try to get you bail so you can bond out. In West Palm Beach, Florida, the first appearance hearings are at the Gun Club jail at 3228 Gun Club Rd. West Palm Beach, Florida, 33406. Typically, they are heard at 9 a.m. each and every day – even Christmas day. In Palm Beach county, first appearance from Belle Glade is usually done first because it is done via electronic means. However, the West Palm Beach first appearance judge may call up the interpreter cases out of order. If your loved one speaks another language – Spanish, Portuguese, French, Creole, or otherwise, they are entitled to understand what is going on. The judge will get an interpreter – via electronic means or in person – to help. The juveniles typically go after the Belle Glade cases. Juveniles that are indicted or charged as adults are entitled to a first appearance within 24 hours after the information or indictment was filed. From there, usually the West Palm Beach first appearance judge will take private criminal lawyer cases first. Then, everybody else.

The Florida first appearance judge may or may not set a bond. You can find more info on how to bond bail someone out of jail in West Palm Beach Florida here. If a loved one was arrested on a VOP (violation of probation) in Palm Beach county, they will typically be held no bond. That means your lawyer must file a written motion to set bond as discussed here.

Your criminal lawyer at First appearance may argue no probable cause to get you released without having to pay a bond

Your criminal lawyer at the first appearance hearing, may argue there is no probable cause for the charges. If the judge agrees, you may be released on your own recognizance (commonly called “O.R.”). The judge may find probable cause for a lesser included offense. An example could be you were arrested for aggravated battery with a deadly weapon. However, the facts proved that in a light most favorable to the State Attorney, it was merely a fistfight with no serious bodily injury. In that case, your first appearance lawyer could argue there was no probable cause for aggravated battery. However, there was probable cause for misdemeanor battery. That could make a huge difference in your record – a misdemeanor vs. a felony – and a huge difference in your bond.

The Florida first appearance judge is supposed to tell the accused at first appearance about certain rights like:

What the charges are, you have the right to remain silent, anything you say can and will be used against you, you have the right to a lawyer.

You will be informed of the nature of the criminal charges against you at first appearance

Your private criminal lawyer or assistant public defender (APD) should get a copy of the probable cause affidavit (the police report). You should let your criminal attorney do all of the talking. The hearing is recorded. You may say something that could harm you later. If you don't have any money, the judge will appoint an APD to represent you. If your private lawyer is not at first appearance and you need to get in touch with your lawyer, tell the judge and he will get the courtroom deputy or someone to call your lawyer. The first appearance judge may reset your case toward the end of the docket, later that day or the next day so your lawyer can be there.

At the end of the Florida first appearance hearing a court date will be set for arraignment

The first appearance judge will also set an arraignment date, which is usually about 30 days from arrest. You can find more info about the timeline of a Florida criminal case, how long a criminal case in West Palm Beach takes, what the process is here. People who are arrested on out of county warrants or out of state warrants will also see the judge at first appearance.

A first appearance hearing in West Palm Beach, Florida is typically a very quick hearing. However, it is very important for these reasons:

If your Palm Beach criminal lawyer gets a loved one a reasonable bond at first appearance, your loved one will typically get out of jail about 12 hours after the bond is posted.

A bond could be lowered or the defendant could be released on their own recognizance if the lawyer successfully argues no probable cause for the criminal charges.

A defendant may make statements on the record that can be used against them at a later time. It is important to let the lawyer do all of the talking.  A criminal lawyer can help protect you and your rights at the first appearance hearing.

-Grey

561-686-6886

“Law is not black or white, it's Grey”

Florida bar board certified criminal trial lawyer Grey Tesh has helped countless people at first appearance hearings in West Palm Beach, Florida. Grey is an expert criminal trial attorney based out of Palm Beach county.

ESPAÑOL


Después del arresto, el acusado va antes del juez de primera apariencia
dentro de las 24 horas. En general, en la primera audiencia,
- Tu abogado criminalista tratará de conseguir una fianza en la primera audiencia para que puedas salir de la cárcel
- Tu abogado criminalista puede argumentar que no existe una causa probable para los cargos y tratar de conseguir la libertad bajo tu propio reconocimiento
- El juez de primera apariencia de Florida te informará de ciertos derechos que tu tienes
- El juez de primera apariencia de Florida te informará de la naturaleza de los cargos en tu contra
- El juez de primera apariencia de Florida fijará una fecha de lectura de cargos para tu caso criminal.
Si tu abogado criminalista consigue una fianza razonable para tu ser querido en la primera audiencia, tu ser querido típicamente saldrá de la cárcel alrededor de 12 horas después que se paga la fianza.