Law is not black or white, it's grey

561-686-6886

DUI

Timeline of a Florida DUI

Florida DUI Driving Timeline

1st DUI, How long can I drive with a Florida DUI?

You may be able to keep most of your driving privileges if this is your first DUI. However, you have to act fast.

Driving timeline for first time DUI in Florida 

Arrest

You can drive for 10 days from the date of your arrest with the DUI citation. The DUI citation is your driver’s license for 10 days. 

10 Days

Your lawyer has to file for a formal review hearing before the 10 days are up. That’s the only way you get a temporary driver’s license and get a deposition of the officers at the formal review hearing. Drive for about 30 days with temporary driving permit if this is your first DUI. 

If you or your lawyer don’t file within the 10 days, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended.  A new change in Florida law also allows you to get a temporary license if you waive your right to a formal review hearing.  Generally, this is not a wise decision because your lawyer cannot ask questions of the officers to try and beat your DUI criminal case.

30 Days

If we win the DMV hearing, you get your driver’s license back. However, if the administrative (DMV) suspension is upheld on a first time DUI: No driving for 30 days after your temporary permit expires if you blew over .08; No driving for 90 days after your temporary permit expires if you refused the breath test.

60 Days

If you blew over .08 on a first time DUI, you may be eligible for a Hardship License (30 days hard time no driving from the day your temporary permit expires).

120 Days

If you refused the breath, blood or urine test on a first time DUI, you may be eligible for a hardship license (90 days after your temporary permit expires).

For more info about DUI driving timeline or driving under the influence in Florida, you can order my book “Avoiding or Surviving a Florida DUI” on amazon.com.

-Grey

561-686-6886

Avoiding or Surviving a Florida DUI: Defenses, Your License, and Consequences

tags:

Hardship license dui in Florida

How long can I drive dui license suspension Florida 

Time for driver's license suspension Florida dui dmv

You may be able to keep most of your driving privileges if this is your first DUI. However, you have to act fast.

 

Español

 

DUI

Cronología de un DUI en Florida

DUI en Florida - Cronología para conducir

Primer DUI, Por cuánto tiempo puedo conducir con un DUI en Florida?

Es posible que tu puedes mantener la mayor parte de tus privilegios de conducir si este es tu primer DUI. Sin embargo, tu tienes que actuar con rapidez.

Cronología para conducir para un primer DUI en Florida

Arresto

Tu puedes conducir por 10 días a partir de la fecha de tu arresto con la citación de DUI. La citación de DUI es tu licencia de conducir por 10 días.

10 Días

Tu abogado tiene que solicitar una audiencia de revisión formal antes de que pasen los 10 días. Esa es la única manera de conseguir una licencia de conducir temporal y obtener una deposición de los oficiales en la audiencia de revisión formal. Puedes conducir durante unos 30 días con el permiso de conducir temporal si este es tu primer DUI.

Si tu o tu abogado no solicita la audiencia dentro de los 10 días, tu licencia de conducir se suspenderá automáticamente . Un nuevo cambio en la ley de la Florida también te permite obtener una licencia temporal si tu renuncias a tu derecho a una audiencia de revisión formal. Generalmente, esto no es una decisión sabia, porque tu abogado no puede hacer preguntas a los oficiales para tratar de derrotar tu caso criminal de DUI.

30 Días

Si ganamos la audiencia del DMV (Departamento de Tránsito), tu obtienes tu licencia de conducir de nuevo. Sin embargo, si la suspensión administrativa (DMV) se mantiene en un primer DUI: No se puede conducir durante 30 días después de que tu permiso temporal expira, si tu soplaste sobre 0.08 en la prueba de aliento de DUI; No se puede conducir durante 90 días después de que tu permiso temporal expira, si tu te negaste a la prueba de aliento.

60 Días

Si soplaste sobre 0.08 en la prueba de aliento de DUI y es un primer DUI, tu puedes ser elegible para un permiso/licencia por dificultad (30 días sin conducir desde el día de que tu permiso temporal expira).

120 días

Si te negaste a tomar la prueba de aliento, sangre u orina en un DUI por primera vez, tu puedes ser elegible para un permiso/licencia por dificultad (90 días después del vencimiento de tu permiso temporal).

Para obtener más información acerca de la Cronología para conducir para un primer DUI en Florida, tu puedes ordenar mi libro "Evitar o Sobrevivir un DUI en la Florida" en Amazon.com.