Law is not black or white, it's grey

561-686-6886

DUI license suspension & hardship

DUI hardship license, DMV, DHSMV process, Formal review hearing

Hardship driver’s license in Florida

In a Florida DUI case, the citation you receive from the officer is your temporary driver’s license. The temporary driver’s license is valid for the 10 days following the date you receive the citation. Before the 10 days are up, you or your DUI lawyer should file for a formal review hearing.  For more information about getting a hardship license without requesting the formal review hearing, see my page on Florida DUI driving timeline.

Do I really need a lawyer to represent me?

Yes. If you hire a lawyer before the 10 days are up, and this is your first DUI, the lawyer will be able to get you a temporary driving permit, usually in less than a week. A temporary driving permit allows you to drive for business purposes only. This means that if you get pulled over, you better be driving to or from work, the grocery store, or the doctor. Although you could represent yourself at the formal review hearing, I would recommend hiring a lawyer to represent you. It is possible that someone has been successful at getting his or her license back at the hearing without a lawyer, but I have never seen or heard of anyone.  You should hire a lawyer who specializes in criminal cases like DUI cases immediately.

How long will I have my temporary driving permit?

Your permit or, as it is often referred to, business purposes only license is valid usually for 30-45 days.   

What happens to my drivers license after the DMV formal review hearing for DUI?

If we win the DMV hearing, you will get your license back. If we lose, your license will be suspended for at least 6 months if you blew over a .08 (the legal limit in Florida). If you refused to blow and this was the first time you have refused, your license will be suspended for a minimum of 12 months. If you have refused to blow before, your license will be suspended for a minimum of 18 months.

It is very important to understand that – unfortunately – most of the time we will lose the DMV hearing. Now I know that is probably not what you wanted to hear, but this is the truth. I have won cases because an officer, who I subpoenaed, did not show for the hearing. This is what I like to call the fog test. If the officers show up, and if you were to put a mirror under their chin – if the mirror would fog up, you lose. I have won DMV hearings when all the officers showed up, but those occasions are rare. Usually, it’s because there was a clear-cut, valid motion to suppress (the stop was bad).

Even if we lose at the formal review hearing with the DMV, it is not all bad news. The great thing about the hearing is that it is like a free deposition. Lawyers use depositions as a discovery tool to gather information. A deposition allows the lawyer to subpoena witnesses to come talk to the lawyer. Everything is recorded and the lawyer gets to ask the witness questions, review all police reports and maintenance information on the breath machine. Basically, the deposition allows the lawyer to uncover any and all weaknesses in the State’s case. This is unique in Florida because you generally are entitled to depositions only in felony cases (a crime punishable by at least a year and a day in prison). The moral is you should hire a lawyer who specializes in criminal cases like DUI immediately to uncover weaknesses in the State’s case against you. 

Can I get a hardship license even if we lose the DMV hearing? 

The short answer: “Yes – if you are eligible.” You may be eligible for a hardship license if this is your first DUI and you either blew over a .08 or you refused the breath test. If this is your first DUI and you blew over a .08, you can apply for a hardship license after 30 days of hard-time (no driving) after your temporary permit expires. People at the DMV typically call it “hard-time” which just means during that time you can not drive. You are not eligible for a hardship license during the “hard-time” no driving period. You must also enroll in the DUI school, and get a hand written copy of your driving record from the clerk’s office to take to the DMV and pay them $.

If this is your first DUI and you refused the breath test, you can apply for a hardship license after 90 days of hard time (no driving) after your temporary permit expires. You must also enroll in the DUI school and get a hand written copy of your driving record from the clerk’s office to take to the DMV and pay them $. There are two ways a driver’s license can be suspended in a DUI case. First, the DMV can administratively suspend your driver’s license. Second, a driver’s license can be suspended in a criminal case.

Let’s look at the license suspensions in criminal cases. 

License suspensions in criminal cases for DUI in Florida: 

If you plead guilty or lose at trial, your license will be suspended for the criminal case in addition to any administrative suspension. 

Here’s a handy chart for license suspensions in criminal cases:

First DUI conviction Minimum 6 months revocation. Maximum 1 year.

Second DUI conviction within 5 years of first conviction Minimum 5 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 1 year

Second DUI conviction outside of 5 years of first conviction
Minimum 6 months revocation. Maximum 1 year.

Third DUI conviction within 10 years of second conviction

Minimum 10 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 2 years.

Third DUI conviction outside of 10 years of second conviction
Minimum 6 months revocation. Maximum 1 year.

Fourth DUI conviction at any time
Mandatory permanent revocation. Hardship reinstatement possible effective October 1, 2010.  The issues are complex.  You need a lawyer to help you if you are eligible.

Murder with a motor vehicle
Mandatory permanent revocation. No hardship reinstatement.

DUI manslaughter
Mandatory permanent revocation. If you have no prior DUI related convictions, you may be eligible for a hardship reinstatement after 5 years.

Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicle Homicide Convictions:
Minimum 3-year revocation. If you are convicted of DUI Serious Bodily Injury, the revocations are the same for a 2nd within 5 years, 3rd within 10 years, and 4th conviction, depending on your prior convictions.

For more info about DUI or driving under the influence in Florida, you can order my book “Avoiding or Surviving a Florida DUI” on amazon.com.

-Grey

561-686-6886

"Law is not black or white, it's Grey"

Board certified criminal trial lawyer Grey Tesh handles DUI driver's license suspension cases all across Florida.  A criminal lawyer based out of West Palm Beach, Florida, Grey has satellite offices in Miami Beach, Fort Lauderdale, Estero, Orlando and Jacksonville, Florida.

 

ESPAÑOL

Licencia temporal para fines comerciales por DUI,División de Vehículos Motorizados, Audiencia Administrativa

La licencia temporal para fines comerciales en Florida

En un caso de DUI en Florida, el boleto que tu recibes de el oficial es tu licencia temporal de conducir.  Esta licencia temporal es válida por los 10 días siguientes a la fecha en la que recibes el boleto. Antes de los 10 días, tu o tu abogado tiene que solicitar una audiencia administrativa.   Para obtener más información sobre cómo obtener una licencia temporal, sin solicitar la audiencia de revisión formal, mira mi pagina sobre la Cronología de un DUI en Florida.

Realmente necesito un abogado para que me represente?

Sí. Si contratas a un abogado antes que pasen los 10 días, y este es tu primer DUI, el abogado podrá conseguirte un permiso de conducir temporal, por lo general en menos de una semana. Una licencia temporal te permite manejar pero con restricciones. Esto significa que si te para la policía, es mejor que tu estés manejando, solamente al o del trabajo, la tienda de comestibles, o al médico. Aunque tu puedes representarte a ti mismo en la audiencia, te recomiendo contratar a un abogado que te represente. Estoy seguro de que alguien ha tenido éxito en recuperar su licencia en la audiencia sin un abogado, pero nunca he visto u oído de nadie. Por lo tanto, debes contratar a un abogado que se especializa en casos de DUI inmediatamente.

Your permit or, as it is often referred to, business purposes only license is valid usually for 30-45 days.

Cuánto tiempo voy a tener mi permiso de conducir temporal?

El permiso de conducir temporal, como se le llama a menudo, una licencia temporal solo para fines comerciales, es válida por lo menos de 30-45 días.

Qué pasa con mi licencia de conducir después de la audiencia administrativa de DUI?

Si ganamos la audiencia en la División de Vehículos Motorizados, tu recibirás tu licencia de nuevo. Si perdemos, tu licencia será suspendida durante al menos 6 meses, si al tomar la prueba de respiración tu nivel es más de .08 (el límite legal en la Florida). Si te negaste a someterte a la prueba de respiración y esta fue la primera vez que te has negado, tu licencia será suspendida por un mínimo de 12 meses. Si te has negado anteriormente, tu licencia será suspendida por un mínimo de 18 meses.

Es muy importante el entender que - desgraciadamente - la mayoría de las veces vamos a perder la audiencia en la División de Vehículos Motorizados. Ahora, sé que probablemente no es lo que tu querías oír, pero es la verdad. Yo he ganado casos porque un oficial de policía, que fue citado, no se presentó a la audiencia. Yo he ganado audiencias del DMV cuando todos los oficiales se presentaron, pero las ocasiones son raras. Por lo general, es porque había una clara y válida moción para supresión de pruebas (la parada fue mala).

Incluso si perdemos en la audiencia con el DMV, no es todo malas noticias. Lo bueno de la audiencia, es que es como obtener una deposición gratis. Los abogados usan deposiciones como una herramienta para obtener información. La deposición permite a un abogado citar testigos para hablar con el abogado. Todo está grabado y el abogado puede hacerle preguntas al testigo, revisar todos los reportes de la policía y el información sobre el mantenimiento de la máquina de respiración. Básicamente, la deposición permite al abogado descubrir cualquier o todas las debilidades del Estado en el caso. Esto es único en la Florida debido a que por lo general no tienes derecho a deposiciones a menos que el caso es una felonía (delito castigable con al menos un año y un día en la prisión). La moraleja es que debes contratar a un abogado que se especializa en casos de DUI inmediatamente, para descubrir cualquier o todas las debilidades en el caso del Estado contra ti.

Puedo obtener una licencia temporal, incluso si perdemos la audiencia en el DMV?

La respuesta corta: “Sí - si tu eres elegible.” Tu puedes ser elegible para obtener una licencia temporal si este es tu primer DUI y si al tomar la prueba de respiración tu nivel es más de .08 o si te negaste a someterte a la prueba de respiración. Si éste es tu primer DUI y tu nivel de respiración fue mas de un .08, puedes solicitar una licencia temporal después de 30 días (sin manejar) despues que se vence el permiso temporal. La gente en el DMV normalmente lo llama "duro-tiempo" que sólo significa que durante ese tiempo tu no puedes manejar. Tu no tienes derecho a una licencia temporal durante el período de no conducir. También debes inscribirte en la escuela de DUI, obtener una copia de tu registro de conducción en la oficina del secretario del tribunal para llevar a la División de Vehículos Motorizados y pagarles dinero.

Si éste es tu primer DUI y te negaste a someterte a la prueba de respiración, puedes solicitar una licencia temporal después de 90 días (sin manejar) despues que se vence el permiso temporal. También debes inscribirte en la escuela de DUI y obtener una copia de tu registro de conducción en la oficina del secretario del tribunal para llevar a la División de Vehículos Motorizados y pagarles dinero. Hay dos maneras en la que una licencia de conducir puede ser suspendida en un caso de DUI. En primer lugar, el DMV puede suspender administrativamente tu licencia de conducir. En segundo lugar, una licencia de conducir puede ser suspendida en un caso criminal.

 

Vamos a ver a las suspensiones de licencias en los casos criminales.

Suspensiones de licencia de conducir en los casos criminales de DUI en Florida:

Si te declaras culpable o pierdes el juicio, tu licencia será suspendida por el caso criminal, además de cualquier suspensión administrativa.

Aquí hay una útil lista para las suspensiones de licencias en casos criminales:

Primera convicción de DUI: Mínimo 6 meses de revocación. Máximo de 1 año.

Segunda convicción de DUI dentro de los 5 años de la primera convicción: Mínimo 5 años de revocación. Puede ser elegible para una licencia temporal después de 1 año

Segunda convicción de DUI fuera de los 5 años de la primera convicción: Mínimo 6 meses de revocación. Máximo de 1 año.

Tercera convicción de DUI dentro de los 10 años de la segunda convicción: Mínimo de 10 años de revocación. Puede ser elegible para una licencia temporal después de 2 años.

Tercera convicción de DUI fuera de los 10 años de la segunda convicción: Mínimo 6 meses de revocación. Máximo de 1 año.

Cuarta convicción de DUI en cualquier tiempo: Revocación obligatoria permanente. Licencia temporal es posible a partir del 1 de octubre de 2010 Los problemas son complejos. Tu necesitas un abogado para ayudarte si tu eres elegible.

Homicidio vehicular: Revocación obligatoria permanente. No es elegible para licencia temporal

Homicidio Involuntario por DUI: Revocación obligatoria permanente. Si no tienes convicciones previas relacionadas con el DUI, puedes ser elegible para una licencia temporal después de 5 años.

Homicidio involuntario, DUI con graves lesiones corporales, o Condenas de
Homicidio vehicular: Mínimo 3 años de revocación. Si eres condenado de DUI con graves lesiones corporales, las revocaciones son las mismas por un segundo DUI dentro de los 5 años, tercer DUI dentro de los 10 años , y una cuarta convicción de DUI, dependiendo en tus convicciones previas.