Law is not black or white, it's grey

561-686-6886

Penalties for DUI in Florida

Consequences of Florida DUI conviction

Florida DUI sentences

Below I have provided the actual Florida DUI and administrative suspension law that provides the guidelines for jail time, monetary fines, and license revocation periods. These laws change constantly.  If you are convicted of any DUI, there is a mandatory adjudication (conviction). That means you can never get your case sealed or expunged (cleaned) from your record. In the State of Florida, the penalties for DUI – both in terms of jail time and monetary fines – can be substantial.
The law lays out the various consequences of a DUI conviction –jail time, fines, probation, misdemeanor versus felony convictions, community service, vehicle impoundment, manslaughter and vehicular homicide, driver license revocation periods, the business purposes only license, and administrative suspensions.

The consequences of a DUI conviction can be severe and far reaching. They can affect you a great deal not only financially –but also in terms of your personal freedom as far as imprisonment; as well as your freedom to transport yourself to and from work, school, and social events.

Florida DUI Law and Administrative Suspension Law

DUI (Driving Under the Influence of Alcoholic Beverages, Chemical Substances, or Controlled Substances) 316.193, F.S. Under Florida law, DUI is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. The penalties upon convictions are the same, regardless of the manner in which the offense is proven.

FINE SCHEDULE 316.193(2)(a) – (b), F.S.

A.First Conviction: Not less than $500, or more than $1,000.
With Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.

B.Second Conviction: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.
With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $2,000, or more than $4,000.

C.Conviction for Third Offense More Than 10 Years from Second Conviction: Not less than $2,000, or more than $5,000.

With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $4,000.
D.Conviction for Third Offense Within 10 Years of Second Conviction: Not more than $5,000. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $4,000.

E.Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Not less than $2,000.With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $4,000.

COMMUNITY SERVICE 316.193(6)(a)

First Conviction: Mandatory 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.

PROBATION 316.193(5)(6)

First conviction, total period of probation and incarceration may not exceed 1 year.

IMPRISONMENT 316.193(2)(a)2, (4)(b), (6)(j), F.S.

At court’s discretion, sentencing terms may be served in a residential substance abuse treatment program, credited toward term of imprisonment.

A.First Conviction: Not more than 6 months. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not more than 9 months.

B.Second Conviction: Not more than 9 months. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not more than 12 months. If second conviction within 5 years; mandatory imprisonment of at least 10 days. At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive.

C.Third Conviction: If third conviction of offense within 10 years of second conviction, mandatory imprisonment of at least 30 days. At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive. If this conviction for offense more than 10 years from second conviction, imprisonment for not more than 12 months.

D.Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Not more than 5 years or as provided in 775.084 as habitual/violent offender.

IMPOUNDMENT OR IMMOBILIZATION OF VEHICLE 316.193(6), F.S.

Unless the family of the defendant has no other transportation:

First conviction = 10 days; second conviction within 5 years = 30 days; third conviction within 10 years = 90 days. Impoundment or immobilization must not occur concurrently with incarceration. The court may dismiss the order of impoundment of any vehicles that are owned by the defendant if they are operated solely by the employees of the defendant or any business owned by the defendant.

IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE 316.193, 316.1937, 322.16, F.S.

A.First Conviction: if court ordered. If BAL .15 or higher, mandatory for at least six months.

B.Second Conviction: Mandatory for at least one year. If BAL .15 or higher, mandatory for at least two years.

C.Third Conviction: Mandatory for at least two years.

CONDITIONS FOR RELEASE OF PERSONS ARRESTED FOR DUI 316.193(9), F.S.

A.The person is no longer under the influence and;
B.The person’s normal faculties are no longer impaired;
C.The person’s blood/breath alcohol level is lower than .05; or
D.Eight hours have elapsed from the time the person was arrested.

DUI MISDEMEANOR CONVICTION: (Accident Involving Property Damage of Personal Injury) 316.193(3), F.S.

Any person who causes property damages or personal injury to another while driving under the influence is guilty of a First Degree Misdemeanor (not more than $1,000 fine or 1 year imprisonment).

DUI FELONY CONVICTION: (Repeat Offenders or Accidents Involving Serious Bodily Injury) 316.193(2), (3), F.S.

A.Any person convicted of a third DUI offense within 10 years of a second DUI conviction or a fourth or subsequent DUI commits a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment).

B.Any person who causes serious bodily injury while driving under the influence is guilty of a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment) or if habitual/violent felony offender as provided in 775.084.

MANSLAUGHTER AND VEHICULAR HOMICIDE 316.193(3), F.S.
A.DUI/Manslaughter: Second Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment).

B.DUI/Manslaughter/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of DUI Manslaughter who knew/should have known accident occurred; and failed to give information or render aid is guilty of a First Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 30 years imprisonment).

C.Vehicular Homicide: Second Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment).

D.Vehicular Homicide/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of vehicular homicide who left the scene of an accident is guilty of a First Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 30 years imprisonment).

DRIVER LICENSE REVOCATION PERIODS FOR DUI 322.271, F.S. AND 322.28, F.S.

A.First Conviction: Minimum 180 days revocation, maximum 1 year.

B.Conviction for Second Offense Within 5 Years of First Conviction: Minimum 5 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 1 year. Other 2nd offenders same as “A” above.

C.Conviction for Third Offense Within 10 Years of Second Conviction: Minimum 10 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 2 years. Other 3rd offenders same as “A” above.
D.Fourth Conviction (Regardless of When Prior Convictions Occurred) or Murder with Motor Vehicle: Mandatory permanent revocation. No hardship reinstatement.

E.DUI Manslaughter: Mandatory permanent revocation. If no prior DUI related convictions, may be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 5 years.
F.Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide Convictions: Minimum 3 year revocation. DUI Serious Bodily Injury having prior DUI conviction is same as “B-D” above.

COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLES (CMV) – ALCOHOL RELATED CONVICTIONS/DISQUALIFICATIONS 322.61, F.S.

A.Persons convicted of driving a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .04 or above or refusing to submit to a test to determine the alcohol concentration while driving a commercial motor vehicle, driving a commercial motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance, or driving a commercial motor vehicle while in possession of a controlled substance shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of 1 year. This is in addition to any provisions of s. 316.193 for DUI convictions.

B.Second or subsequent conviction of any of the above offenses arising out of separate incidents will result in a permanent disqualification from operating a commercial motor vehicle.

C.There are no provisions for persons disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle to obtain a hardship (business or employment) license to operate a commercial motor vehicle.

BUSINESS PURPOSES ONLY/EMPLOYMENT PURPOSES ONLY REINSTATEMENTS 322.271, F.S. AND 322.28, F.S.

A.First Conviction: Must complete DUI school, apply to department for hearing for possible hardship reinstatement.

B.Second Conviction (or more): No hardship license except as provided below.

C.Second Offense Within 5 Years of First Conviction: (5-Year Revocation): May apply for hardship reinstatement hearing after one year. Must complete DUI school and remain in the DUI supervision program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in cancellation of the hardship license). Applicant may not have consumed any alcoholic beverage or controlled substance or driven a motor vehicle for 12 months prior to reinstatement. Ignition interlock required for one year as condition for hardship reinstatement; if BAL .15 or greater, then interlock required for two years. 322.271(2)(d).

D.Third Offense Within 10 Years of Second Conviction: (10-Year Revocation): May apply for hardship reinstatement hearing after two years. Must complete DUI school and remain in the DUI supervision program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in the cancellation of the hardship license). Applicant may not have consumed any alcoholic beverage or controlled substance or driven a motor vehicle for 12 months prior to reinstatement. Ignition interlock required for two years as condition for hardship reinstatement. 322.271(2)(d).

E.DUI Manslaughter With No Prior DUI Related Conviction: (Permanent Revocation):

May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 5 years have expired from date of revocation or expired from date of term of incarceration provided the following requirements have been met:1.Has not been arrested for a drug-related offense for at least 5 years prior to the hearing;

2.Has not driven a motor vehicle without a license for at least 5 years prior to the hearing;3.Has been alcohol and drug-free for at least 5 years prior to the hearing; and 4.Must complete a DUI school and must be supervised under the DUI program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in cancellation of the hardship license).

5.Ignition interlock required for two years as a condition of hardship license. 322.271(2)(d)

F.DUI Manslaughter with a separate DUI Conviction: (Permanent Revocation): No hardship license.

G.Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide Convictions: (3-Year Revocation): May immediately apply for hardship reinstatement hearing. Must complete DUI school or advanced driver improvement course.

DUI PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS 316.193, F.S., 322.271, F.S., 322.291, F.S.

A.First Conviction: Must complete DUI program before hardship reinstatement. See 15E.

B.Second Conviction in 5 Years (5-Year Revocation): Customer must complete DUI program following conviction. See requirements in 14C and 14D respectively.

C.DUI Manslaughter With No Prior DUI Related Conviction: (Permanent Revocation): Must complete DUI program before hardship reinstatement. See 14E.

D.Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide: (Minimum 3-Year Revocation): See 14G

E.Customers Who Wait Until Revocation Period Expires: Must enroll in DUI program and pass the driver license examinations to be relicensed. Failure to complete the program within 90 days after such reinstatement will result in cancellation of the license until the program is completed.

F.Reckless Driving: If the court has reasonable cause to believe that the use of alcohol, chemical or controlled substances contributed to a violation of reckless driving, the person convicted of reckless driving must complete the DUI program if ordered by the court.

G.Treatment: Treatment resulting from a psychosocial evaluation may not be waived without a supporting psychosocial evaluation by a court appointed agency with access to the original evaluation. 316.193(5), F.S.

CHEMICAL OR PHYSICAL TEST PROVISIONS 316.1932, F.S., 316.1933, F.S., 316.1934, F.S. 316.1939, F.S.

A.Refusal: Refusal to submit to a breath, urine, or blood test is admissible as evidence in DUI criminal proceedings. Second of subsequent refusal is a misdemeanor of the first degree.

B.Driver License Suspension Periods: First refusal, suspended for 1 year. Second or subsequent refusals, suspended for 18 months.

C.Commercial Driver License Disqualification Periods: First refusal in a commercial motor vehicle, disqualified for 1 year. Second of subsequent refusals in a commercial motor vehicle, disqualified permanently. No hardship reinstatement permitted.

D.Forceful Withdrawal of Blood: If necessary, blood may be withdrawn in DUI cases involving serious bodily injury or death by authorized medical personnel with the use of reasonable force by the arresting officer, even if the driver refuses.

E.Unconscious: Any person who is incapable of refusal by reason of unconsciousness or other mental or physical condition shall be deemed not to have withdrawn his consent to such test. A blood test may be administered whether or not such person is told that his failure to submit to such a blood test will result in the suspension of his privilege to operate a motor vehicle.

F.Portable Alcohol Breath Testing Devices: Authorized by s. 322.2616, F.S., for persons under the age of 21. Reading is admissible as evidence in any administrative hearing conducted under s. 322.2616, F.S.

ADJUDICATION AND SENTENCING 316.656, F.S. 322.2615, F.S.

Penalty to be Imposed by Court: Judges are prohibited from deviating from the administrative suspension/revocation periods mandated by statute. The courts are prohibited from withholding adjudication in DUI cases; or from reducing a DUI charge in the defendant’s blood alcohol was .15 or greater.

DRIVING WHILE LICENSE SUSPENDED OR REVOKED 322.34, F.S.

Any person whose driver license/privilege is suspending for Driving with an Unlawful Alcohol Level, or revoked for DUI, DUI Manslaughter or Vehicular Homicide, or for any other offense ordered by the court and who causes death or serious bodily injury to another person by operating a motor vehicle in a careless or negligent manner is guilty of a 3rd degree felony, punishable by both imprisonment of not more than 5 years, a fine not to exceed $5,000, or both.

ADMINISTRATIVE SUSPENSION OF PERSONS UNDER THE AGE OF 21 FOR DRIVING WITH AN ALCOHOL LEVEL .02 OR ABOVE

Section 322.2616, F.S., authorizes law enforcement officers having probable cause to believe that a motor vehicle is being driven by or is in the actual physical control of a person who is under the age of 21 while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or who has any alcohol level may lawfully detain this person and may request them to submit to a test to determine the alcohol level. This violation is neither a traffic infraction nor a criminal offense, nor does being detained under this statute constitute an arrest.

A.First Suspension for Persons Under the Age of 21 With An Alcohol Level .02 or Above: 6 months

B.Second or Subsequent Suspension for Alcohol Level .02 or Above: 1 year

C.First Suspension for Refusal to Submit to Breath Test: 1 year

D.Second or Subsequent Suspensions for Refusal: 18 months

E.Suspension: The suspension is effective immediately. If the breath or blood alcohol level is .05 or higher the suspension shall remain in effect until completion of a substance abuse evaluation and course. The officer will issue the driver a temporary permit effective 12 hours after issuance, which is valid for 10 days, provided the driver is otherwise eligible.

ADMINISTRATIVE SUSPENSION LAW 322.2615, F.S. 316.193, F.S., 316.1932, F.S.

A.First Suspension for Driving With an Unlawful Alcohol Level (.08 or above): 6 months

B.Second or Subsequent Suspension for Driving With an Unlawful Alcohol Level (.08 or above): 1 year

C.First Suspension for Refusal to Submit to Breath, Urine or Blood Test: 1 year

D.Second or Subsequent Suspension for Refusal: 18 months

E.Suspension: The suspension is effective immediately. The officer will issue the driver a temporary permit which is valid for 10 days from the date of arrest, provided the driver is otherwise eligible.

For more info about DUI or driving under the influence in Florida, you can order my book “Avoiding or Surviving a Florida DUI” on amazon.com.

-Grey

561-686-6886

Avoiding or Surviving a Florida DUI: Defenses, Your License, and Consequences

 

 Español

 

Las sanciones por un DUI en la Florida

Consecuencias de una convicción de DUI en Florida

Sentencias por un DUI en Florida

A continuación he proporcionado la ley de DUI y la ley de suspensión administrativa actual, que proporciona las directrices para el tiempo de cárcel, multas y períodos de revocación de licencia. Estas leyes cambian constantemente. Si eres condenado for un DUI, hay una convicción obligatoria. Eso significa que tu nunca puedes obtener que tu caso sea sellado o borrado de tu expediente criminal. En el Estado de Florida, las sanciones por DUI - tanto en términos de tiempo de cárcel y multas monetarias - pueden ser sustanciales.
La ley establece las diversas consecuencias de una condena por DUI - tiempo en la carcel, multas, probatoria, convicción por delito menor contra convicción por delitos graves, servicio comunitario, la confiscación del vehículo, homicidio involuntario y homicidio vehicular, períodos de revocación de licencias de conducir, licencia temporal solo para fines comerciales, y suspensiones administrativas.

Las consecuencias de una convicción de DUI pueden ser graves y de largo alcance. Ellos te pueden afectar a una gran cantidad no sólo financieramente -pero también en términos de tu libertad personal en la medida como el encarcelamiento; así como tu libertad para transportarte hacia y desde el trabajo, la escuela y eventos sociales.

La Ley de DUI en la Florida y la Ley de la Suspensión Administrativa

DUI (conducir bajo la influencia de bebidas alcohólicas, sustancias químicas o sustancias controladas) 316.193, FS (Estatutos de la Florida). Bajo la ley de Florida, DUI es una ofensa, demostrado por la alteración de las facultades normales o un nivel de alcohol en la sangre ilegal o nivel de alcohol en el respiración de .08 o más. Las sanciones por las convicciones son las mismas, independientemente de la forma en que el delito se demuestra.

LISTA DE MULTAS 316.193(2)(a) - (b), F.S. (Estatutos de la Florida)

A. Primera convicción: no menos de $500, o más de $1,000.
Con nivel de respiración de alcohol/ sangre (BAL) de .15 o más o un menor de edad en el vehículo: No menos de $1,000, o más de $2,000.

B. Segunda convicción: No menos de $1,000, o más de $2,000.
Con BAL de .15 o más o un menor de edad en el vehículo: No menos de $2,000, o más de $4,000.

C. Convicción por una tercera ofensa más de 10 años de la segunda convicción: No menos de $2,000, o más de $5,000.
Con BAL de .15 o más o un menor de edad en el vehículo: No menos de $4,000.

D. Convicción por una tercera ofensa dentro de los 10 años de la segunda convicción: No más de $5,000.
Con BAL de .15 o más o un menor de edad en el vehículo: No menos de $4,000.

E. Cuarta o subsiguiente convicción: No menos de $2,000.
Con BAL de .15 o más o un menor de edad en el vehículo: No menos de $4,000.

SERVICIO COMUNITARIO 316.193(6)(a)

Primera convicción: 50 horas de servicio comunitario obligatoria o multa adicional de $10 por cada hora de servicio comunitario requerido

PROBATORIA 316.193(5)(6)

Primera convicción: período total de probatoria y encarcelamiento no más de un año.

 

ENCARCELAMIENTO 316.193(2)(a)2, (4)(b), (6) (j), F.S.

A la discreción del tribunal, los términos de sentencia pueden ser servidos en un programa de tratamiento residencial de abuso de sustancias, acreditado hacia cualquier tiempo en la cárcel.

A. Primera convicción: No más de 6 meses. Con BAL de .15 o más o un menor de edad en el vehículo: No más de 9 meses.

B. Segunda convicción: No más de 9 meses. Con BAL de .15 o más o un menor de edad en el vehículo: No más de 12 meses. En caso de una segunda convicción dentro de 5 años; encarcelamiento obligatorio de al menos de 10 días. Al menos 48 horas de encarcelamiento deben ser consecutivas.

C. Tercera convicción: Si la tercera convicción de la ofensa dentro de los 10 años de la segunda convicción, encarcelamiento obligatorio de al menos de 30 días. Al menos 48 horas de encarcelamiento deben ser consecutivas. Si esta convicción de la ofensa más de 10 años de la segunda convicción, encarcelamiento a no mas de 12 meses.

D. Cuarta o subsiguiente convicción: no más de 5 años según lo previsto en 775.084 como delincuente habitual / violento.

EMBARGO O INMOVILIZACIÓN DE VEHÍCULO 316.193(6), F.S.

A menos que la familia del acusado no tiene ningún otro medio de transporte:

Primera convicción: = 10 días; segunda convicción dentro de 5 años = 30 días; tercera convicción dentro de 10 años = 90 días. Embargo o inmovilización no debe producirse simultáneamente con el encarcelamiento. El tribunal puede desestimar la orden de embargo de cualquier vehículo que son propiedad del acusado si son utilizados únicamente por los empleados del acusado o la empresa del acusado.

MONITOR ELECTRÓNICO DEL VEHICULO 316.193, 316.1937, 322.16, F.S.

A. Primera convicción: si es ordenada por la corte. BAL de .15 o más, obligatorio por lo menos seis meses.

B. Segunda convicción: obligatorio por lo menos un año. BAL de .15 o más, obligatorio por lo menos dos años.

C. Tercera convicción: obligatorio por lo menos dos años.


CONDICIONES PARA LA LIBERACIÓN DE LAS PERSONAS ARRESTADAS FOR DUI 316.193(9), F.S.

A. La persona ya no está bajo la influencia y;

B. Las facultades normales de la persona ya no son afectadas

C. El nivel de alcohol/sangre de la persona is menos de .05; o

D. Han transcurrido ocho horas desde el momento en que la persona fue arrestada.

 

CONVICCIÓN DE DELITO MENOR DE DUI: (accidente con daños a la propiedad de Lesiones Personales) 316.193 (3), F.S. (Estatutos de la Florida)

Cualquier persona que cause daños de propiedad o lesiones personales a otro al manejar bajo la influencia es culpable de un delito menor de primer grado (multa de no más de $1,000 o 1 año de encarcelamiento.

CONVICCIÓN DE FELONÍA POR DUI: (ofensores reincidentes o accidentes con serias lesiones personales) 316.193 (2), (3), F.S. (Estatutos de la Florida)

A. Cualquier persona que es condenada de un tercer DUI dentro de los 10 años del segundo DUI o un cuarto o subsiguiente DUI, comete una felonía de tercer grado (multa de no más de $5,000 y/o 5 años de prisión).

B. Cualquier persona que causa serias lesiones personales al manejar bajo la influencia Es culpable de una felonía de tercer grado (multa de no más de $5,000 y/o 5 años de prisión) o si es ofensor habitual/ofensor violento, como previsto en 775.084 (Estatutos de la Florida).

HOMICIDIO INVOLUNTARIO Y HOMICIDIO VEHICULAR 316.193 (3), F.S. (ESTATUTOS DE LA FLORIDA)

A. Homicidio Involuntario por DUI: felonía de segundo grado (multa de no más de $10,000 y/o 15 años de prisión).

B. Homicidio Involuntario por DUI / Dejar la escena: Una persona condenado de un homicidio involuntario por DUI, que sabía o debería haber sabido que el accidente ocurrió; y se niega a dar información o prestar ayuda, es culpable de una felonía de primer grado (multa de no más de $10,000 y/o 30 años de prisión).

C. Homicidio vehicular: felonía de segundo grado (multa de no más de $10,000 y/o 15 años de prisión).

D. Homicidio vehicular / Dejar la escena: Una persona condenado de homicidio vehicular que dejo la escena del accidente es culpable de una felonía de primer grado (multa de no más de $10,000 y/o 30 años de prisión).

REVOCACIÓN DE LICENCIA DE CONDUCIR POR DUI 322.271, F.S. y 322.28, F.S.

A. Primera convicción: Mínimo de 180 días de revocación, máximo de 1 año.

B. Segunda convicción de DUI dentro de los 5 años de la primera convicción: Mínimo de 5 años de revocación. Puede ser elegible para una licencia temporal después de 1 año. Otros segundo delincuentes, lo mismos como "A" anterior.

C. Tercera convicción de DUI dentro de los 10 años de la segunda convicción: Mínimo de 10 años de revocación. Puede ser elegible para una licencia temporal después de 2 años. Otros terceros delincuentes, lo mismos como "A" anterior.

D. Cuarta convicción (no importa cuando ocurrieron condenas anteriores) o un homicidio vehicular: Revocación obligatoria permanente. No es elegible para licencia temporal

E. Homicidio Involuntario por DUI: Revocación obligatoria permanente. Si no hay convicciones previas relacionadas con el DUI, puede ser elegible para una licencia temporal después de 5 años.

F. Homicidio Involuntario, DUI con graves lesiones corporales, o condenas de homicidio vehicular: Mínimo 3 años de revocación. DUI con graves lesiones corporales, teniendo una convicción de DUI previa, es el mismo como "B-D" de arriba.


VEHÍCULOS COMERCIALES - CONVICCIONES RELACIONADOS CON EL ALCOHOL/DESCALIFICACIONES 322.61, F.S. (ESTATUTOS DE LA FLORIDA)

A. Personas condenadas por conducir un vehículo comercial con un nivel de alcohol en la sangre o nivel de alcohol en el respiración de .04 o más, o negar a someterse a una prueba para determinar la concentración de alcohol al manejar un vehículo comercial, manejar un vehículo comercial bajo la influencia del alcohol o substancia controlada, o manejar un vehículo comercial mientras en posesión de una substancia controlada, será descalificado para manejar un vehículo comercial por un período de 1 año. Esto es además de lo previsto en 316.193 (estatuto) para las convicciones por DUI.

B. Segunda o subsiguiente convicción de cualquiera de los delitos mencionados derivados de incidentes separados, resultará en una descalificación permanente para manejar un vehículo comercial.

C. No existen disposiciones para personas descalificadas para manejar un vehículo comercial o para obtener una licencia temporal (negocios o empleo) para manejar un vehículo comercial.

 

LICENCIA TEMPORAL ÚNICAMENTE PARA FINES COMERCIALES/ ÚNICAMENTE PARA TRABAJO 322.271, F.S. Y 322.28, F.S. (ESTATUTOS DE LA FLORIDA)

A. Primera convicción: Debe completar la escuela de DUI, aplicar para una audiencia con el DMV (Departamento de Vehículos Motorizados) para una licencia temporal.

B. Segunda convicción (o más): No es elegible para licencia temporal, según lo previsto debajo.

C. Segunda ofensa dentro de los 5 años de la primera convicción: (5 años de revocación): Puede ser elegible para una licencia temporal después de 1 año. Debe completar la escuela de DUI y permanecer en el programa de supervisión de DUI por el resto del período de revocación (la falta de reportarse para asesoramiento o tratamiento resultará en la cancelación de la licencia temporal). El solicitante no debe haber consumido cualquier bebida alcohólica o sustancia controlada o conducir vehículo durante los 12 meses previos a la restauración. Monitor electrónico del vehiculo es requerido por un año como condición para la licencia temporal; si el BAL de .15 o más, entonces es requerido por dos años. 322.271(2)(d).

D. Tercera ofensa dentro de los 10 años de la segunda convicción: (10 años de revocación): Puede ser elegible para una licencia temporal después de 2 años. Debe completar la escuela de DUI y permanecer en el programa de supervisión de DUI por el resto del período de revocación (la falta de reportarse para asesoramiento o tratamiento resultará en la cancelación de la licencia temporal). El solicitante no debe haber consumido cualquier bebida alcohólica o sustancia controlada o conducir vehículo durante los 12 meses previos a la restauración. Monitor electrónico del vehiculo es requerido por dos años como condición para la licencia temporal. 322.271(2)(d).

E. Homicidio Involuntario por DUI sin convicciones previas relacionadas con el DUI: (Revocación permanente).

Puede ser elegible para una licencia temporal después de que transcurran cinco años desde la fecha de revocación o de la fecha del plazo de encarcelamiento, siempre y cuando los siguientes requisitos se han cumplido:

      1. No ha sido arrestado por una ofensa relacionada con drogas por lo menos 5 años antes de la audiencia;

      2. No ha conducido un vehículo sin licencia por lo menos 5 años antes de la audiencia;

      3. No ha consumido cualquier bebida alcohólica ni drogas por lo menos 5 años antes de la audiencia, y

      4. Debe completar la escuela de DUI y permanecer en el programa de supervisión de DUI por el resto del período de revocación (la falta de reportarse para asesoramiento o tratamiento resultará en la cancelación de la licencia temporal).

      5. Monitor electrónico del vehiculo es requerido por dos años como condición para la licencia temporal. 322.271(2)(d).

F. Homicidio por DUI con una convicción por separado de DUI: (Revocación permanente). No es elegible para licencia temporal.

G. Homicidio Involuntario, DUI con graves lesiones corporales, o condenas de homicidio vehicular: (3 años de revocación): Puede aplicar inmediatamente para una audiencia con el DMV para una licencia temporal. Debe completar la escuela de DUI o un curso avanzado de mejoramiento del conductor.

 

REQUISITOS DEL PROGRAMA DE DUI 316.193, F.S. 322.271, F.S., 322.291, F.S. (ESTATUTOS DE LA FLORIDA)

A. Primera convicción: Debe completar el programa de DUI antes de aplicar para una licencia temporal. Ver 15E.

B. Segunda convicción dentro de los 5 años (5 años de revocación): Debe completar el programa de DUI siguiente a la convicción. Consulte los requisitos en 14C y 14D respectivamente.

C. Homicidio por DUI sin convicciones previas relacionadas con el DUI: (Revocación permanente). Debe completar el programa de DUI antes de aplicar para una licencia temporal. Ver 14E.

D. Homicidio Involuntario, DUI con graves lesiones corporales, homicidio vehicular: (mínimo de 3 años de revocación): Ver 14G

E. Los clientes que esperan hasta que expire el período de revocación: Deben inscribirse en el programa de DUI y pasar los exámenes de licencias de conducir. La falta de completar el programa dentro de 90 días después de la reinstalación resultara en la cancelación de la licencia hasta que se complete el programa.

F. Conducir con imprudencia temeraria: Si el tribunal tiene motivos razonables para creer que el uso de alcohol, productos químicos o sustancias controladas contribuyeron a una violación de conducir con imprudencia temeraria, la persona condenada debe completar el programa de DUI si es ordenado por el tribunal.

G. Tratamiento: El tratamiento como resultado de una evaluación psicosocial no se puede ser renunciada sin una evaluación psicosocial justificada por una agencia designado por el tribunal con el acceso a la evaluación original. 316.193 (5), F.S.

DISPOSICIONES SOBRE LAS PRUEBAS QUÍMICAS O FÍSICAS 316.1932, F.S., 316.1933, F.S., 316.1934, F.S. 316.1939, F.S. (Estatutos de la Florida)

A. Denegación: Negarse a someterse a la prueba de respiración, orina o sangre es admisible como evidencia en un procedimiento criminal por DUI. Segunda o subsiguiente denegación es un caso separado de denegación a someter a la prueba (delito menor de primer grado).

B. Periodos de suspensiones de licencia de conducir: Primera denegación, suspensión por 1 año. Segunda o subsiguiente denegación, suspensión por 18 meses.

C. Periodos de descalificación de licencia de conducir comercial: Primera denegación en un vehículo comercial, descalificación por 1 año. Segunda o subsiguiente denegación en un vehículo comercial, descalificación permanente. No es elegible para una licencia temporal.

D. Obtener por fuerza la sangre: Si es necesario, la sangre puede ser tomada en casos de DUI con graves lesiones o si alguien muere, por un personal médico autorizado con el uso de fuerza razonable del agente que hizo el arresto, incluso si el conductor se niega.

E. Inconsciente: Cualquier persona que es incapaz de negarse debido a la pérdida de conocimiento o condición mental o física, será considerará que no ha retirado su consentimiento para dicha prueba. Una prueba de sangre puede ser administrada aun si a la persona se le dice o no que su falta de someterse a dicha prueba de sangre resultará en la suspensión de su privilegio de conducir un vehículo.

F. Máquinas portátiles de la prueba de respiración: Autorizado por s. 322.2616, F.S., (Estatutos de la Florida), para las personas menores de 21 años. La lectura es admisible como evidencia en una audiencia administrativa llevada a cabo bajo 322.2616, F.S.


CONVICCIÓN Y SENTENCIA 316.656, F.S. 322.2615, F.S.

Penalización impuesta por la Corte: Los jueces tienen prohibido desviarse de la suspensión administrativa y los períodos de mandato de revocación por la ley. Los tribunales tienen prohibido retener la convicción en los casos de DUI, o reducir el cargo de DUI, si el nivel de alcohol en la sangre del acusado fue .15 o mayor.

MANEJAR MIENTRAS LA LICENCIA DE CONDUCIR ESTA SUSPENDIDA O REVOCADA 322.34, F.S.

Cualquier persona cuya licencia de conducir o privilegio esta suspendida por manejar con un nivel de alcohol ilegal, revocada por DUI, homicidio por DUI, homicidio vehicular, o por cualquier otra ofensa ordenada por el tribunal y que cause la muerte o graves lesiones corporales a otra persona por operar un vehículo de una manera descuidada o negligente, es culpable de una felonía de 3er grado, castigable por tanto encarcelamiento de no más de 5 años, una multa que no exceda $5,000 dólares, o ambas cosas.

SUSPENSIÓN ADMINISTRATIVA. DE LAS PERSONAS MENORES DE 21 AÑOS POR CONDUCIR CON UN NIVEL DE ALCOHOL DE .02 O MAYOR

Sección 322.2616, F.S., (Estatutos de la Florida) autoriza a los agentes policiales que tienen causa probable para creer que un vehículo está siendo manejado o en el control físico de una persona que está bajo la edad de 21 años bajo la influencia de bebidas alcohólicas o que tenga cualquier nivel de alcohol puede legalmente detener a esta persona y podrá solicitar que se sometan a una prueba para determinar el nivel de alcohol. Esta violación no es una infracción de tránsito, ni un delito, ni tampoco el ser detenido en virtud de este estatuto constituye un arresto.

A. Primera suspensión para personas menores de 21 años con un nivel de alcohol de .02 o más: 6 meses

B. Segunda o subsiguiente suspensión por un nivel de alcohol de .02 o más: 1 año

C. Primera suspensión por negarse a someterse a la prueba de respiración: 1 año

D. Segunda o subsiguientes suspensiones por denegación: 18 meses

E. Suspensión: La suspensión es efectiva inmediatamente. Si el nivel de alcohol en el respiración o en la sangre es .05 o más, la suspensión permanecerá en efecto hasta que se complete una evaluación de abuso de sustancias y curso. El oficial le emitirá al conductor un permiso temporal que sera efectivo 12 horas después de la emisión, que es válida por 10 días, siempre y cuando el conductor es elegible.

LEYES DE LA SUSPENSIÓN ADMINISTRATIVA 322.2615, F.S. 316.193, F.S. 316.1932, F.S.


A. Primera suspensión por manejar con un nivel de alcohol ilegal (.08 o más): 6 meses

B. Segunda o subsiguientes suspensiones por manejar con un nivel de alcohol ilegal (.08 o más): 1 año

C. Primera suspensión por negarse a someterse a la prueba de respiración, la sangre o la orina: 1 año

D. Segunda o subsiguientes suspensiones por denegación: 18 meses

E. Suspensión: La suspensión es efectiva inmediatamente. El oficial le emitirá al conductor un permiso temporal que es válida por 10 días desde la fecha de arresto, siempre y cuando el conductor es elegible.

Para obtener más información acerca del DUI o conducir bajo la influencia en Florida, tu puedes ordenar mi libro "Evitar o Sobrevivir un DUI en la Florida" en Amazon.com.