Law is not black or white, it's grey

561-686-6886

Sale of Marijuana

Marijuana possession with intent to sell within 1,000 feet charges

Florida law provides that it is a 3rd degree felony if you are convicted of possession of marijuana with intent to sell.  The maximum you are facing is 5 years in Florida state prison.  The charge is bumped up a notch to a 2nd degree felony if the offense was committed within 1,000 feet of a child care facility, public or private elementary, middle or secondary school between the hours of 6 a.m. and 12 midnight or at any time in, on, or within 1,000 feet of real property comprising a state, county or city park, a community center, or a publicly owned recreational facility.  For that enhancement, the maximum you are facing is 15 years in Florida state prison.  This also applies to a public or private college, university, church, convenience store, and public housing facility.

However, the enhancement does not apply as to child care facilities unless the owner or operator posts a sign that is at least 2 square feet in size with words identifying the facility as a licensed child care facility and it is posted in a conspicuous place where the sign is reasonable visible to the public.

Español

Cargo de Posesión de marihuana con la intención de vender, dentro de 1,000 pies 

La ley de Florida establece que es un delito grave de tercer grado, si tu eres declarado culpable de posesión de marihuana con intención de venta. El máximo que te enfrentas es de 5 años en la prisión estatal de Florida. El cargo se aumenta a un nivel superior de delito grave de segundo grado, si el crimen se cometió dentro de 1,000 pies de un centro de cuidado infantil, primaria pública o privada, la escuela media o secundaria entre las horas de 6 am y las 12 de la noche o en cualquier momento en, en o dentro de 1,000 pies de una propiedad de un estado, parque de un condado o ciudad, un centro comunitario o un centro recreativo de propiedad pública. Por ese realce, la cantidad máxima que te enfrentas es de 15 años en una prisión estatal de Florida. Esto también se aplica a una universidad pública o privada, universidad, iglesia, tienda de conveniencia, y una vivienda pública.

Sin embargo, el realce no se aplica en cuanto a un centro de cuidado infantil, a menos que el dueño o propietario pongan un signo que es por lo menos 2 pies cuadrados de tamaño, con palabras que identifican que el centro de cuidado infantil tiene una licencia y está colocada en un lugar visible donde el signo es visible razonablemente para el público