Law is not black or white, it's grey

561-686-6886

Trafficking in Marijuana

Trafficking in cannabis, trafficking in marijuana, honey oil, concentrates

I recently won a case in Florida's fourth district court of appeals reversing multiple convictions for marijuana related offenses.  Manufacture of a schedule 1 substance, owning or renting property for the purpose of manufacturing honey oil, possession with intent to sell, distribute, possession of paraphernalia (for grow house equipment), etc.  The case is State v. Jonathan Osorio. The opinion is here.

 

Florida statutes provide that any person who knowingly sells, purchases, manufactures, delivers, or brings into this state, or who is knowingly in actual or constructive possession of, in excess of 25 pounds of cannabis, or 300 or more cannabis plants, commits a felony of the first degree, known as “trafficking in cannabis.”

There are minimum mandatory sentences in Florida state court for trafficking in marijuana

3 year minimum mandatory prison sentence 25-2,000

If the marijuana is more than 25 pounds, but less than 2,000 pounds, or 300 or more cannabis plants, but not more than 2,000 cannabis plants, there is a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of 3 years, and a mandatory fine of $25,000.

7 year minimum mandatory prison sentence 2,000-10,000

If the marijuana is 2,000 pounds or more, but less than 10,000 pounds, or 2,000 or more cannabis plants, but not more than 10,000 cannabis plants, there is a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 7 years, and a mandatory fine of $50,000.

15 year minimum mandatory prison sentence 10,000 or more

10,000 pounds or more of marijuana or 10,000 or more marijuana plants, there is a 15 year minimum mandatory prison sentence and a mandatory fine of $200,000.

Florida delivery of marijuana attorney

Anyone who delivers without consideration (no money changing hands in exchange for the weed) less than 20 grams of pot is facing a maximum of one year in jail and $1000 fine. It’s a first degree misdemeanor. Pot for purposes of delivery of marijuana does not include the resin extracted from the plants of the genus Cannabis or any compound manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of such resin.

Florida drivers license  revocations for a marijuana conviction

If you are adjudicated guilty of any marijuana charge – simple misdemeanor possession of marijuana under 20 grams, felony possession of marijuana over 20 grams, possession with intent to sell marijuana, sale of marijuana, manufacture or cultivation of marijuana (growing weed) – any weed charge – your driver’s license will be revoked for a period of 2 years.

However, if you are found not guilty at trial or if you are successful on a motion to suppress, you may get to keep your driver’s license.

Also, if your lawyer is able to negotiate a withhold of adjudication for your plea, you will keep your driver’s license.  

While based out of West Palm Beach, Florida.  I will travel all over Florida and the nation (for federal cases) for the right client who is charged with a marijuana criminal offense.

 

Español

El tráfico de cannabis, el tráfico de marijuana

Los estatutos de Florida establecen que cualquier persona que a sabiendas venda, compre, fabrica, suministra, o ponga en este estado, o que sea a sabiendas en la posesión real o constructiva de más de 25 libras de marijuana, o 300 o más plantas de cannabis, comete un delito grave de primer grado, conocido como "el tráfico de cannabis."

Hay sentencias obligatorias mínimas en los tribunales del estado de Florida para el tráfico de marijuana

3 años de prisión mínima obligatoria (25-2,000 libras)

Si la marijuana es más de 25 libras, pero menos de 2,000 libras, o 300 o más plantas de cannabis, pero no más de 2,000 plantas de cannabis, hay una sentencia de prisión mínima obligatoria de 3 años, y una multa obligatoria de $25,000.

7 años de prisión mínima obligatoria (2,000-10,000 libras)

Si la marijuana es de 2,000 libras o más, pero menos de 10,000 libras, o 2,000 o más plantas de cannabis, pero no más de 10,000 plantas de cannabis, hay una sentencia mínima obligatoria de prisión de 7 años, y una multa obligatoria de $ 50,000.

15 años de prisión mínima obligatoria 10,000 o más (libras)

10,000 libras o más de marijuana o 10,000 o más plantas de marijuana, hay una sentencia mínima obligatoria de 15 años de prisión y una multa obligatoria de $200,000. 

Abogado de cargos de entrega de marihjuana en Florida

Cualquier persona que entrega, sin tener en cuenta (sin dinero cambiando de manos a cambio de la marijuana) menos de 20 gramos de marijuana, se enfrenta a un máximo de un año de cárcel y una multa de $1,000. Es un delito menor de primer grado. La marijuana, para los propósitos de la entrega de la marijuana, no incluye la resina extraído de las plantas del género Cannabis o cualquier fabricación compuesto, sal, derivado, mezcla o preparación de dicha resina.

Revocaciones de licencias de conducir por una condena de marijuana

Si eres encontrado culpable de cualquier cargo de marijuana - un simple delito menor de posesión de marijuana de menos de 20 gramos, delito grave de posesión de marijuana de más de 20 gramos, posesión con intención de vender marijuana, venta de marijuana, fabricación o cultivo de marijuana (crecimiento de marijuana) - cualquier cargo de marijuana - tu licencia de conducir será revocada por un período de 2 años.

Sin embargo, si te declaran no-culpable en el juicio o si tu tienes éxito en una moción para suprimir evidencias, puedes llegar a mantener tu licencia de conducir.

Además, si tu abogado es capaz de negociar una retención de adjudicación para tu declaración, tu mantienes tu licencia de conducir.