Law is not black or white, it's grey

561-686-6886

Grand theft lawyer, retail theft, petit theft

Thou shalt not steal. But if you did, this page has truthful information about theft charges in Florida.  Florida has one theft statute. It encompasses stealing, larceny, purloining, abstracting, embezzlement, misapplication, misappropriation, conversion, or obtaining property or money by false pretenses, fraud, or deception. In Florida, it's all called theft.

Theft is divided into degrees. From the least serious misdemeanor retail theft or petit theft to first-degree grand theft.

Theft generally 

Theft generally is when a person knowingly obtains, uses or tries to obtain or use someone else's property with the intent to either temporarily or permanently deprive them of it.  Alternatively, they appropriate the property to their own use or to the use of someone else who is not entitled to use it.

Theft defenses generally

No intent to steal. Theft is an intentional crime. That is you must intend to steal or deprive, whether it's temporary or permanently, someone from their stuff. There's no intent to steal, that is a valid defense at a jury trial for a theft charge. I didn't do it. Any time there is a false allegation, that is a defense at trial to a theft charge. Necessity may be a defense as well. Although not used as much as the prior two defenses, necessity basically says that it's okay to commit a crime to prevent another greater crime from happening.

Grand theft

Grand theft is broken up into degrees. First, second and third, grand theft from a dwelling and grand theft from a person 65 years of age or older.

Third-degree grand theft

For a third-degree grand theft conviction, a defendant is facing a maximum of five years prison. The value is $300 for less than $20,000. Third-degree grand theft also includes a will or other testamentary instrument, a firearm, or a motor vehicle, fire extinguisher, citrus fruit consisting of 2,000 or more individual pieces of fruit, property taken from a designated construction site identified by a properly posted sign, any stop sign, theft of a controlled substance.

They are all considered third degree grand theft, regardless of the value. One time I was in court then I heard the judge asked the defendant what did you take? And he stated “a grand theft auto video game.” The whole courtroom burst out in laughter. While that was funny, facing a felony grand theft charge is not.

Enhancements for grand theft in Florida

There are certain enhancements under Florida law that take a regular grand theft of the third degree to a second-degree felony. The most common is if we are in a state of emergency declared by the governor and property is stolen after the declaration of emergency is made. If the perpetration of the theft is facilitated by conditions arising from the emergency, that is potentially grounds for enhancement. 

Second-degree grand theft 

For second-degree grand theft conviction, the defendant is facing a maximum of 15 years in prison. The value is $20,000 but less than hundred thousand dollars. However Florida law provides that any person who by themselves or working with one or more people coordinates the activities of one or more persons in committing theft where the stolen property is valued over $3000, commits a second-degree felony. So, organizers managers leaders are supervisors are penalized more. 

First-degree grand theft

For a first-degree grand theft conviction, the defendant is facing 30 years in prison. Generally, the value taken is $100,000 and up.

Also, if the offender commits a grand theft and in the course of committing the offense he uses a motor vehicle – other then just a getaway vehicle - to assist in committing the offense and damages the real property of another or if in the course of committing the offense, the offender causes damage to the real or personal property of another in excess of $1,000, that is first-degree grand theft.

Grand theft from a dwelling 

it's a grand theft with third-degree if property is taken from a dwelling which is usually a house. The value does not need to be more than $300. The value only needs to be a hundred dollars or more but less than $300 to be considered grand theft of a dwelling. This potentially includes the unenclosed curtilage of a dwelling or generally the immediate area outside of the house.

Petit theft (not petty theft)

If the property stolen was valued at 100 bucks or more but less than $300, the defendant commits petit theft of the first-degree punishable by up to one year in jail and $1,000 fine. 

Petit theft is the catchall for any property that is not specified in other areas of the statute or that does not have a specific amount attributed to it. That amount would be a second-degree misdemeanor maximum of 60 days in jail $500 fine.

Enhancements based on petit theft convictions

The more you do it the worse the penalties get. A person who commits petit theft in who has previously been convicted of any theft commits a misdemeanor of the first degree. So instead of looking at 60 days in jail and a that$500 fine, the defendant is now facing a year in jail and $1,000 fine based on the prior conviction.

If a person commits a petit theft and they have two or more prior theft convictions, they're facing a third degree felony, punishable by up to five years prison.

Consequences of a Florida theft conviction

A conviction for theft is a crime of dishonesty. Unlike the federal rules of evidence, the Florida rules of evidence provide no time bar for the entry of this conviction if you ever testify in court, at a deposition or any sworn proceeding. That is, in your entire lifetime, 50 years from now, the government or opposing counsel if it is a civil case, could bring your theft conviction up and discredit your testimony.

Employers will not want to hire you. Who wants to hire a thief? 

You may also be declined housing. Even apartment managers are doing background checks on people.

If you are convicted for stealing gas from a gas station, your driver's license will be suspended for:

-Up to six months for a first conviction

-One year for a second or subsequent conviction

Theft from persons 65 years of age or older

A person who is convicted of theft of more than $1,000 bucks from someone who is 65 years of age or older has to pay restitution to the victim and perform up to 500 hours of community service work. That is in addition to any fine or sentence which may be imposed. If the defendant is charged with theft from a person 65 years of age or older and he has a reason to know or actually knows that the victim was 65 years of age or older the offense is reclassified.

-If the value is $300 or more but less than $10,000, it's a third-degree felony, punishable by five years prison.

-If the value is $10,000 or more but less than $50,000, it's a second-degree felony, punishable by 15 years prison.

-If the value is $50,000 or more, that is a first-degree felony, punishable by 30 years prison.

Retail theft

Retail theft is typically when someone steals something from a department store. However, it doesn't have to be a department store. It could be a grocery store or any retail store.

Retail theft is the taking possession of or carrying away merchandise, property, money or negotiable documents; altering or removing the label, universal product code, or price tag; transferring merchandise from one container to another; or removing a shopping cart with the intent to deprive the merchant of the possession, use, benefit or full retail value.

What typically happens in a retail theft case

A loss prevention officer saw the defendant steal something on closed circuit television or CCTV. It may or may not be recorded. They confront the defendant as they attempt to leave all points-of-sale. They do have a right to detain the defendant temporarily. Typically, they will ask the defendant to accompany them to a room that is closed off when no one else has access to. They're supposed to immediately call the cops. The cops are supposed to show up and then address the theft. Sometimes people get arrested. Other times, if the value is less than $300, the cop may issue you a notice to appear. 

Drivers license suspension for for theft conviction in Florida

For a first-time conviction, the judge has the discretion to order the suspension of the defendant's drivers license if he is adjudicated guilty of any misdemeanor violation of petit theft or retail theft. This is regardless of the value of the property stolen.

For a second conviction for petit theft or retail theft, the judge is required to order a driver's license suspension. The person must be adjudicated guilty. That is why withhold adjudication is so important if you can't beat the charges. The suspension is for up to six months for a first suspension. For a second or subsequent suspension it is required to be for one year. 

If you or a loved one has been arrested for a theft charge, call me at 561-686-6886, board certified criminal trial lawyer, Grey Tesh. Although based out of West Palm Beach, Florida, I travel to help people charged with theft crimes.

-Grey

“Law is not black or white, it's Grey”

561-686-6886

 ESPAÑOL

 

Abogado de hurto mayor, robo menor, hurtos

No robarás. Pero si lo hicieras, esta página tiene información veraz sobre los cargos de robo en Florida. Florida tiene un estatuto de robo. Abarca el robo, hurto, defraudando, abstraer, malversación, uso indebido, la apropiación indebida, la conversión, o la obtención de bienes o dinero por pretextos falsos, fraude o engaño. En la Florida, todo es llamado robo.

El robo se divide en grados. Desde el delito menos grave de robo menor, hasta hurto mayor en primer grado.

Robo en general

Robo en general es cuando una persona obtiene a sabiendas, utiliza o intenta obtener o usar la propiedad de otra persona con la intención de forma temporal o permanente privarlos de ella. Alternativamente, se apropian de la propiedad para su propio uso o para el uso de otra persona que no tenga derecho a utilizarla.

Defensas generales a Robo

Sin la intención de robar. El robo es un delito intencional. Es decir que debes tener la intención de robar o privar, ya sea temporal o permanentemente, a alguien de sus cosas. No hay ninguna intención de robar, esa es una defensa válida en un juicio con jurado por un cargo de robo. Yo no lo hice. Cada vez que hay una acusación falsa, esa es una defensa en el juicio a un cargo de robo. La necesidad puede ser una defensa también. Aunque no se utiliza tanto como las anteriores dos defensas, la necesidad, básicamente, dice que está bien cometer un delito para evitar que otro mayor crimen suceda.

Hurto mayor

Hurto mayor se divide en grados. Primero, segundo y tercero, hurto mayor de una vivienda, y hurto mayor de una persona de 65 años de edad o más.

Hurto mayor en tercer grado

Para una convicción de hurto mayor en tercer grado, el acusado se enfrenta a un máximo de cinco años de prisión. El valor es de $300 pero menos de $20,000. Hurto mayor en tercer grado también incluye un testamento u otro instrumento testamentario, un arma de fuego, o un vehículo, extintor de fuego, cítricos que constan de 2000 o más piezas individuales de fruta, de propiedad tomadas de una obra de construcción designado identificado por un signo debidamente exhibida, cualquier señal de stop, el robo de una sustancia controlada.

Todos ellos se considera hurto mayor en tercer grado, sin tener en cuenta el valor. Una vez que yo estaba en la corte luego oí el juez le preguntó al acusado, qué fue lo que tu tomaste? Y afirmó: "un videojuego, Grand Theft Auto." Toda la sala estalló en risas. Mientras que fue gracioso, no es gracioso enfrentar un cargo de felonia de hurto mayor.

Realces para el hurto mayor en la Florida

Hay ciertos realces bajo la ley de Florida que aumenta un cargo regular de hurto mayor en tercer a un cargo de hurto mayor en segundo grado. El más común es si estamos en un estado de emergencia declarado por el gobernador y la propiedad es robada después de que se hizo la declaración de emergencia. Si la comisión del robo se ve facilitada por las condiciones derivadas de la situación de emergencia, esto es potencialmente causales de realces.

Hurto mayor en segundo grado

Para una convicción de hurto mayor en segundo grado, el acusado se enfrenta a un máximo de 15 años de prisión. El valor es de $20,000, pero menos de cien mil dólares. Sin embargo la ley de Florida establece que toda persona que por sí mismos o trabajando con una o más personas, coordina las actividades de una o más personas en la comisión de robos, donde los bienes robados se valora más de $3,000, comete un hurto mayor en segundo grado. Así, los líderes directivos organizadores y los supervisores son penalizados más.

Hurto mayor en primer grado

Para una convicción de hurto mayor en primer grado, el acusado se enfrenta a 30 años de prisión. En general, el valor que toma es de $100,000 en adelante. Además, si el acusado comete el hurto y en el curso de la comisión del delito, utiliza un vehículo - que no sea sólo el vehículo para la escapada - para ayudar en la comisión del delito y daña a la propiedad real de otra o si en el curso de cometer el delito, el acusado causa daños a la propiedad real o personal de otro de más de $1,000, esto es un hurto mayor de primer grado.

Hurto mayor de una vivienda

Es un hurto mayor con tercer grado si la propiedad es tomada de una vivienda, que es por lo general una casa. El valor no tiene que ser más de $300. El valor sólo tiene que ser de cien dólares o más, pero menos de $300 para ser considerado hurto mayor de una vivienda. Esto potencialmente incluye en general el área inmediata fuera de la casa.

Petit theft is the catchall for any property that is not specified in other areas of the statute or that does not have a specific amount attributed to it. That amount would be a second-degree misdemeanor maximum of 60 days in jail $500 fine.

Hurto

Si la propiedad robada fue valorada en 100 dólares o más, pero menos de $300, el acusado comete hurto en primer grado, punible con hasta un año de cárcel y multa de 1,000 dólares.

Hurto menor se refiere a cualquier propiedad que no está especificado en otras áreas de la ley o que no tiene una cantidad específica que se le atribuye. Esa cantidad sería un delito menor de segundo grado, punible con un máximo de 60 días en la cárcel multa de $ 500.

Consecuencias de una convicción de hurto en Florida

Una convicción por hurto es un delito de deshonestidad. A diferencia de las reglas federales de evidencia, las reglas de evidencia en la Florida no proporcionan ninguna barra de tiempo para la entrada de esta convicción si alguna vez tu testificas en la corte, en una deposición o cualquier procedimiento jurada. Es decir, en toda tu vida, dentro de 50 años, el gobierno o el abogado contrario si se trata de un caso civil, podrían traer tu convicción de robo y desacreditar tu testimonio.

Los empleadores no van a querer contratarte. Quién quiere contratar a un ladrón?

También puedes ser rechazado para obtener una vivienda. Incluso los administradores de apartamentos están haciendo verificaciones de antecedentes de las personas.

Si eres convicto por el robo de gasolina de una estación de servicio, tu licencia de conducir será suspendida por:

- Hasta seis meses para una primera convicción

- Uno año por una segunda o subsiguiente convicción

Hurto mayor de una persona de 65 años de edad o más.

Robo de persona de 65 años de edad o más

Una persona que es convicto por hurto de más de $1,000 dólares de alguien que tiene 65 años de edad o más, tiene que pagar una restitución a la víctima y completar hasta 500 horas de trabajo comunitario. Esto es además de la multa o la sentencia que se puede imponer. Si el demandado es acusado de hurto mayor de una persona de 65 años de edad o más y tiene una razón para saber o en realidad sabe que la víctima de 65 años de edad o más, el delito sea reclasificado.

- Si el valor es de $300 o más pero menos de $10,000, es un delito grave de tercer grado, punible con cinco años de prisión.

- Si el valor es de $10,000 o más pero menos de $50,000, es un delito grave de segundo grado, punible con 15 años de prisión.

- Si el valor es de $50,000 o más, es un delito grave de primer grado, punible con 30 años de prisión.

Hurto de tiendas

Hurto de tiendas es típicamente cuando alguien roba algo de tiendas. Sin embargo, no es solamente una tienda. Podría ser una tienda de comestibles o cualquier tienda al por menor.

Hurto de tiendas es la toma de posesión de o llevándose mercancía, bienes, dinero o documentos negociables; la alteración o la eliminación de la etiqueta, código de producto universal, o etiqueta de precio; la transferencia de mercancías desde un recipiente a otro; o la eliminación de un carrito de la compra con la intención de privar al comerciante de la posesión, uso, beneficio o valor de venta al público.

Qué sucede normalmente en un caso de robo de tiendas?

Un oficial de la prevención de pérdidas vio al acusado robar algo en circuito cerrado de televisión. Puede o no puede ser grabado. Se enfrentan al acusado en su intento de dejar todos los puntos de venta. Ellos tienen el derecho de detener al acusado temporalmente. Por lo general, se le pedirá al acusado que los acompañen a una habitación que está cerrada cuando nadie más tiene acceso. Se supone que llaman inmediatamente a la policía. Se supone que los policías aparecen y luego discuten el hurto. A veces las personas son arrestadas. Otras veces, si el valor es inferior a $300, el policía puede emitir un aviso de comparecencia.

Suspensión de la licencia de conducir por una convicción de robo en Florida

Para una convicción por primera vez, el juez tiene la discreción para ordenar la suspensión de la licencia de conducir del acusado, si es encontrado culpable de cualquier violación de delito menor de robo/hurto. Esto es sin tener en cuenta el valor de los bienes robados.

Para una segunda convicción robo o hurto menor, se requiere que el juez ordene la suspensión de la licencia de conducir. La persona debe ser encontrado culpable. Es por eso que la retención de adjudicación es tan importante, si no puedes vencer a los cargos. La suspensión es de hasta seis meses, para una primera suspensión. Durante una segundo o subsiguiente suspensión, se requiere para ser por un año.

Si tú o un ser querido han sido arrestados por un cargo de robo, llámame al 561-686-6886, abogado criminalista certificado, Grey Tesh. Estoy en el condado de Palm Beach, pero viajo para ayudar a la gente.