FLORIDA REGISTRATION OF FIREARMS
Is that firearm registered to you? Why would anyone ask that? Do you have to register a firearm in Florida?
No. That would be illegal in Florida. There is a statutory prohibition against the registration of firearms.
The right of individuals to keep and bear arms is guaranteed under both the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution and section 8, Article I of the Florida State Constitution.
The legislative intent behind the prohibition of registering firearms is:
- That a list, record, or registry of legally owned firearms or law-abiding firearm owners is not a law enforcement tool and can become an instrument for profiling, harassing, or abusing law-abiding citizens based on their choice to own a firearm and exercise their Second Amendment right to keep and bear arms as guaranteed under the United States Constitution. Further, such a list, record, or registry has the potential to fall into the wrong hands and become a shopping list for thieves.
- That a list, record, or registry of legally owned firearms or law-abiding firearm owners is not a tool for fighting terrorism, but rather is an instrument that can be used as a means to profile innocent citizens and to harass and abuse American citizens based solely on their choice to own firearms and exercise their Second Amendment right to keep and bear arms as guaranteed under the United States Constitution.
EXCEPTIONS TO THE PROHIBITION OF REGISTERING FIREARMS
Records of firearms that have been used in committing any crime, convicted felons, stolen firearms, pawn shops, records for insuring firearms, sales receipts by the seller, personal owner records, criminal cases, forfeiture cases, injunctions and Baker Act proceedings, among others. There are still time limits on how long some of the exceptions listed here can be kept as records. However, no list or registry can ever be made from these exceptions.
VIOLATIONS ON THE PROHIBITION OF REGISTRATION OF FIREARMS IN FLORIDA
A violation of the prohibition of registration of firearms in Florida is a 3rd° felony, punishable by up to five years in Florida state prison. There is a maximum $5 million fine for a violation of the prohibition of registering firearms.
Also, there is no Florida state permit required to possess or purchase a rifle, shotgun or handgun. However, unless you have a concealed weapons permit, there is a 3 day waiting period before your gun can be delivered to you.
“Law is not black or white, it’s Grey”